Organic Wine Additives

Thank you for your interest in our organic wine additives.

Harris Organic is the only certified organic vineyard in Perth.

Legal Wine Additives

We do not use unnatural wine additives in our organic wines and that's why we make the best organic wine.

Our wines are suitable for vegetarians, vegans and low sodium diets.

Our red wine shiraz and malbec and preservative free dessert natural wines are un-fined and unfiltered, providing you with an organic wine as natural as possible.

At Harris Organic Wine we do not add ANY of the following additives listed below to our organic wine although they are legal additives commonly used in Australian wines. As our grapes are organically grown to certified organic specifications, you can enjoy pure wines without any herbicide, chemical fertiliser or pesticide residues.

Do organic wines have additives?

Does organic wine have preservatives?

Australian organic wines may have up to 150 parts per million of sulphur dioxide added to them and still be certified organic wine.

Organic wines are free of residual traces of vineyard chemicals such as plant growth regulators, pesticides, chemical fertiliser and herbicide residues. Also, certified organic wines don't contain potentially harmful cellar additives such as PVPP, flavoring or coloring agents.

Wines without additives are also made at Harris Organic. Try our Pet Nat Pettilant Naturel or Pedro Ximenez natural wines.

List of Wine Additives

What additives are used in wine

Here is a list of wine additives; we do not use.

  • Activated carbon
  • Agar
  • Alginates, calcium and potassium salts
  • Argon
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Calcium tartrate
  • Carbon dioxide
  • Cellulose
  • Collagen
  • Cupric citrate on a bentonite base
  • Diatomaceous earth
  • Dimethylpolysiloxane
  • Egg white
  • Gelatine
  • Isinglass – Fish bladder
  • Nitrogen
  • Oxygen
  • Perlite
  • Phytates
  • Polyvinyl polypyrrolidone - PVPP
  • Potassium ferrocyanide
  • SMS - sulphide
  • Silicon dioxide
  • Thiamin chloride*
  • Thiamin hydrochloride*
  • Vitamin C

  • Duncan Harris
  • Organic Wine Additives
  • Form One Planet
  •  Certified Organic Wine

Here are a few photos of our organic vineyard.

Here are some useful tips on vegan and natural wines: Wines that are unfined and unfiltered, that is they are wines with no additives, are generally classed as natural or vegan wines.

Wine with no animal additives and filtered only with sterile filters (ceramic filters) or cross-flow filters are also vegan friendly. Be sure to check with the wine producer.
Several large wineries use sterile filters instead of animal products.

Some wineries use bentonite clay to remove long chain maolecules from white wines instead of milk or isinglass and other animal products.

Biodynamic wines can not be made in a vegan way even when they are unfined since the farming process uses animal bones (for special compost mixtures) it negates this.

If a wine is certified organic, that doesn’t guarantee it’s vegan, please ask at the cellar door or read the back label for information.

Wine without additives

Sulfite free wine

Check out this paper written by Creina Stockley from the Australian Wine Research Institute on wine additives, particularly sulphur dioxide.

Preservative Free Wine

Preservative free wine is wine without sulphur dioxide added. Not meny people have an adverse reaction to Preservative Free Wine or wines with preservatives.
If you are a small minority of asthmatic then you may be one of the unfortunate people that suffer within about ten minutes of consuming wine with preservatives.
If you suffer the following day after a night out we strongly suggest you have a hydration issue. Drink more water.

Adverse reactions to additives in wine

Follow us on social media

Harris Organic FacebookOrganic Wine InstagramHarris Wines Google