Organic wine starts in the vineyard.
Vegan wines are generally unfined and unfiltered, with no animal additives and, if filtered, are filtered using only sterile, ceramic filters or cross-flower filters. Be sure to check with the producer about filtering techniques as several mass-produced wineries use sterile filters rather than animal products.
Some wineries use bentonite clay instead of isinglass and other animal products in order to fine protein from white wines. Biodynamic wines can be made in a vegan way when they are unfined, but since the farming process uses animal bones for special compost mixtures, it negates this.
If a wine is certified organic, it doesn’t guarantee it’s vegan. Please ask when visiting any cellar door or read the back label for information.